Sunday's Child (remastered & expanded)

7 Nov 2005
The Bottom Line:

Ellie Rhee finally out of prison.

Seven bonus tracks give more insight in this classic JM album. Five of them originate from a 1975 John Peel session.

Carry me back to Tennessee..

Twelve page booklet included with sleevenotes by John Hillarby.

That's where I long to be..

The CD is printed in Island pink label design. This is not quite correct as Inside Out originally had a pink rim label.

Bonus info

nr track time comment
12 Ellie Rhee 3:53 Yesss! Previously unreleased; recorded Island Studios, Hammersmith, 26 August 1974
13 Satisfied Mind (First Mix) 3:28 Previously unreleased; recorded Island Studios, Hammersmith, 25 August 1974. Prominent piano in the band.
14 One Day Without You 3:42 Solo with a nicely noisy acoustic guitar.
15 You Can Discover 3:25 Spotless. Makes you realise what a good job Steve Winwood did on the original.
16 My Baby Girl 3:05 Danny Thompson almost not missed...
17 The Message 2:50 Same here.
18 Spencer The Rover 3:47 Slightly faster.

Track 14-18 recorded 7 January 1975 during John Peel Session for BBC Radio One (solo with acoustic guitar).


Full album credits
John Martyn - Guitar, Vocals, Moog and Clavinet
Special Thanks to Danny Thompson - Bass, Liam Genockey - Drums, John Bundrick - Piano, Kesh Sathie - Tablas Drums - Tony Braunagel (track 7), Terry Wilson - Electric Bass (track 7), Al Anderson - Electric Bass (track 1), Beverley Martyn - Vocals (track 4)1
Produced by John Martyn
All tracks written and arranged by John Martyn, except tracks 6 & 9 (trad. arr. John Martyn). All tracks published by Island Music Ltd.
Recorded and mixed at Island Studios, London, August 1974
Engineered by Richard Digby Smith (thanks also to Brian Humphries)
Tape operator - Dick Cuthell
Original LP cover concept & design - Robb Winn and Albert's Art Co. Ltd.
Cover photography by Visualeyes
CD package design by Phil Smee at Waldo's Design & Dream Emporium

Compiled by Mark Powell
Sleeve notes by John Hillarby
Mastered by Paschal Byrne at Audio Archive, London
Project co-ordination for Universal by Joe Black
Tape research by Zoe Roberts

"Universal would like to thank Iestyn David, Daryl Easlea, Andy Griffin, John Hillarby, Mick Houghton, Liam Moore, John Scott, Theresa Walsh and John Martyn"

1 The CD cover says 1 but this is misread. The original vinyl sleeve is correct in stating number 4, My Baby Girl.

Production: John Martyn
Compilation: Mark Powell
Mastering: Paschal Byrne (Audio Archive, London)
CD: Island IMCD 323 / 983 073-5