Live At Leeds Deluxe Edition

6 Sep 2010
The Bottom Line:

Fine reconstruction of historical evening.

This is not the same album as the original Live At Leeds; instead it offers the tapes of the concert itself. So most of the material is unreleased.

Well presented collection of tapes with much unknown material accompanied by 24 page booklet.
Tracks 1-12 are the original concert given 13 February 1975 in the Refectory of Leeds University.
The rest were recorded during rehearsals.

The press release by Universal draws heavily on John Hillarby's 7000 words liner notes.

Extensive credits
Sleevenotes and tape research by John Hillarby
Remastered by Paschal Byrne ath The Audio Archiving Company, London
Produced for Universal Music Catalogue by Joe Black
Art and Design: Phil Smee at Waldo's Design & Dream Emporium, St Albans
UMC would like to thank:
Justin Brown, Elanzo Burgess, Daryl Easlea, Amanda Harcourt, John Hillarby, Benita Kimera, Pete Matthews, Emine Rifat, Jok Scott, Nicola Slater, Matt '2ts' Hillarby, Danny Thompson and Teresa Walsh.
Memorabilia images courtesy of John Hillarby
Photographs of John Martyn with Paul Kossoff on stage at Leeds courtesy Keith Boden
'Ringside Seat' photographs featuring Danny Thompson and John Martyn courtesy Ben Small
Photo on page 3 of the booklet © Robert Ellis / Repfoto

Track details

CD1 - The Concert
nr title time comment
01 May You Never 5:28 Not included in original release.
02 Outside In 12:55 Not included in original release.
03 Spencer The Rover 3:58 Not included in original release.
04 Make No Mistake 5:00 This song ended up on the original album.
05 Bless The Weather 4:42 This song made it to the original release, too.
06 My Baby Girl 2:45 Not included in original release.
07 You Can Discover 3:57 Not included in original release.
08 Solid Air 6:10 Not included in original release.
CD2 - Concert and Rehearsals
01 I'd Rather Be The Devil (Devil Got My Woman) 11:22 Not included in original release.
02 So Much In Love With You 5:25 With Paul Kossoff
03 Clutches 5:37 With Paul Kossoff
04 Mailman 5:55 With Paul Kossoff
05 May You Never 4:08 Rehearsal
06 The Message 5:12 Rehearsal
07 Outside In 13:18 Rehearsal
08 The Man In The Station 3:48 Rehearsal; this song was included in the original album with a different vocal track.
09 Head And Heart 4:31 Rehearsal
10 Clutches 5:11 Rehearsal, with Paul Kossoff
Production: Joe Black
Remastering: Paschal Byrne
Artwork: Phil Smee
2CD: Universal Island 532 519-7