Bless The Weather (remastered & expanded)

7 Nov 2005
The Bottom Line:

"So nice to see our John again" (Paul Wheeler)

Worthy rerelease of one of John's best albums. May You Never single on CD at last.

The seven bonus tracks are mainly interesting alternative takes. These prove that the right choices were made for the original album back in 1971.

Twelve page booklet included with sleevenotes by John Hillarby.

The CD is printed in Island pink label design. This is not quite correct as Bless The Weather originally had a pink rim label.
Walk On The Water, as originally printed on all original releases, got a new (and more correct) title on the rerelease: Walk To The Water. Better for the US market, one tends to Believe...

Bonus info
Walk To The Water (take 3, 3:34) with some introductory studio sounds that demonstrate the spontaneity of the recording. The tablas are low in the mix.

Bless The Weather (take 4, 5:37): almost the same as the original, mainly different in the outroll and the studio banter in the beginning.

Back Down The River (take 1, 2:44): more prominent echoplex guitar in the background.

Go Easy (take 1, 4:39): acoustic guitar only.

Glistening Glyndebourne (take 2, 7:48): different take with slightly (15 seconds) longer intro.

Head And Heart (band version, 10:17): recorded 17 May 1971 at Sound Techniques, Chelsea and previously unreleased. Acoustic band version resembling the original track but played twice. Light Brazilian touch by soft and rather lame percussion.

May You Never (single version, 2:45): releases as Island WIP 6116 in November 1971; previously unreleased on CD. Bumpy rhythm and double vocals with a sax solo in the middle.


Full credits
All guitars and vocals by John Martyn
With the help of Danny Thompson, Tony Reeves, Roger Powell, Ian Whitman, Richard Thompson, Smiley De Jonnes and Beverley Martyn
Produced by John Martyn and John Wood for Witchseason Productions Ltd.
Engineered by John Wood and Steve Mayberry, Sound Techniques
Photography and original LP design by Visualeyes
CD package design by Phil Smee at Waldo's Design & Dream Emporium

Compiled by Mark Powell
Sleeve notes by John Hillarby
Mastered by Paschal Byrne at Audio Archive, London
Project co-ordination for Universal by Joe Black
Tape research by Zoe Roberts

"Universal would like to thank Ian Barnett, Iestyn David, Daryl Easlea, Andy Griffin, John Hillarby, Mick Houghton, Liam Moore, John Scott, Theresa Walsh and John Martyn"

CD: Island IMCD 321 / 983 073-1