Sweet Little Mystery | The Essential John Martyn

9 Sep 2013
The Bottom Line:

Warming up for the Island Years box set.

17 tracks accompanied by an 8 page booklet with sleevenotes by Patrick Humphries.

Three tracks are live versions:
Some People Are Crazy, You Can Discover and Small Hours.
The producer obviously went for the more quiet chill-out atmosphere.

Full credits
Compilation and Sequence by Joe Black for Hey Joe!
Sleevenotes by Patrick Humphries
Product managed by Paul Fernandes
Design by Estuary English
Mastered at Abbey Road Studios
Photos appear courtesy of Getty Images with special thanks to Clare Morris
With thanks to Johnny Chandler, Joe Howard and Sheenagh James

The CD was released by Spectrum Music which is a Universal Music Group company.

Track details
nr title time provenance
01 May You Never 3:44 Solid Air (1973)
02 Couldn't Love You More 3:06 One World (1977)
03 Sweet Little Mystery 5:26 Grace & Danger (1980)
04 Bless The Weather 4:28 Bless The Weather (1971)
05 Some People Are Crazy (live) 4:14 BBC Live In Concert (recorded 25 Mar 1981, Paris Theatre)
06 Go Down Easy 3:36 Solid Air (1973)
07 One World 4:02 One World (1977)
08 Spencer The Rover 4:11 Sunday's Child (1974)
09 Johnny Too Bad 3:59 Grace & Danger (1980)
10 Fine Lines 3:50 Inside Out (1973)
11 Angeline 4:47 Piece By Piece (1986)
12 Primrose Hill (with Beverley Martyn) 2:57 The Road To Ruin (1970)
13 Traffic-Light Lady (with Beverley Martyn) 3:18 Stormbringer! (1970)
14 You Can Discover (live) 3:57 Live At Leeds [Deluxe] (recorded 13 Feb 1975)
15 Goin' Down To Memphis 3:09 The Tumbler (1968)
16 Glistening Glyndebourne 6:34 Bless The Weather (1971)
17 Small Hours (live) 8:25 [In Session], recorded John Peel Show (9 Jan 1978)
Compilation and Sequence: Joe Black for Hey Joe!
Product managed by Paul Fernandes
Design: Estuary English
Mastered at Abbey Road Studios
Photos courtesy of Getty Images
CD Spectrum SPEC2148